2015 Edition CEHRT is Required in Program Year 2019 for All Promoting Interoperability Program Participants

Beginning this year, all Promoting Interoperability Programs participants must use 2015 Edition certified electronic health record technology (CEHRT) to avoid a downward Medicare payment adjustment.

CMS believes that these up-to-date standards and functions of 2015 Edition CEHRT will better support interoperable exchange of health information and improve clinical workflows.

2019 CEHRT Requirements

  • The 2015 Edition CEHRT did not need to be in place by January 1, 2019, but must be used for the entire EHR reporting period of any continuous, self-selected 90-day period.
  • The 2015 Edition CEHRT functionality must be in place by the first day of the EHR reporting period and the product must be certified to the 2015 Edition criteria by the last day of the EHR reporting period.

Attestation Statements

In addition to using the 2015 Edition CEHRT, participants must attest to certain statements to demonstrate that they have not knowingly and willfully taken action to limit or restrict the compatibility or interoperability of their CEHRT. These statements are referred to as the “prevention of information blocking attestation.” For more details on information blocking, review this fact sheet.

For More Information

To learn more about 2015 Edition CEHRT requirements, review this fact sheet. Additional information on 2019 program requirements can be found on the Promoting Interoperability Programs website.

The Usability People work with you on improving the Usability of Healthcare IT.

The Usability People
Together we may save a life! #SafeHealthIT